Tags

, ,

Spoiler alert: If you haven’t seen Bones season 10 and you don’t want to know what happens, stop reading now. Major spoilers ahead!

Still with me? Okay, don’t say I didn’t warn you.

During the Bones season 10 premiere, a longtime character, Dr. Lance Sweets, called “Sweets” by the majority of the characters (except for Daisy, who sucks, but more about her later), is murdered. Immediately, a new character, FBI Special Agent James Aubrey, is introduced–and even included in the credits, for criminy’s sake! If you can’t tell by my tone, these plot twists really twisted my knickers.

While I was skeptical of Sweets at first, over time I grew to love him. Despite Booth and Bones’s wariness of him and their constant rebuffs, he doggedly continued to reach out to them and help them therapeutically (he was an FBI psychologist), and eventually even became their friend. So this sudden brutal murder was quite the bummer. I found myself yelling “No!” at the TV and proclaiming that the show was dead to me.

Of course, Sweets’s death was made all the more poignant by the fact that his on-again off-again girlfriend, the aforementioned Daisy, was heavily pregnant with their child. I’m not a monster, really. I feel bad for Daisy. But c’mon, she still sucks. One of the many quirky forensics interns, Daisy’s alternating arrogance and insecurity are grating rather than endearing. (And that’s saying a lot, as the interns are generally a rather idiosyncratic crew, to put it mildly.)

daisy_wick

Speaking of suckage, back to the new Sweets, as I call him: Special Agent James Aubrey. Like Sweets, he’s a young guy, and they physically resemble one another. Sweets’s body wasn’t even cold yet when this guy was trotted out, and he was immediately put in the credits. Way to ease us into the transition, Bones producers!

Clearly, I have very strong feelings about fictional characters and what happens to them. However, I’m not alone. Just consider the groupies who drool over Mr. Darcy from Pride and Prejudice or those who love to hate Sheldon from The Big Bang Theory. Remember what happened to Matthew in season 3 of Downton Abbey? Or how people reacted to the How I Met Your Mother finale? I’ll say no more.

Why is this? We know these characters are not real, simply the creations of excellent writers. So why do we care so much what happens to them, joyful when things go well and devastated when tragedy strikes? Why is it so much fun to rag on stupid Daisy and characters we don’t like?

I don’t know the answers to these questions, and I can’t really think about it right now. I’m still all verklempt that Daisy named her baby Seeley.

