Tags

, ,

A previous post got me thinking about prayer. I don’t consider what I do prayer since I’m not saying actual prayers like the Hail Mary and Our Father; it’s more like a conversation with a good friend. One who’s a really good listener.

In that vein, I try to reciprocate. I ask how the big guy is doing and always send him good wishes. I don’t get an answer and don’t expect one, but it seems like the polite thing to do. The poor guy is probably bombarded with I need this, I need that, please help me 24/7–does anyone inquire about him once in a while? Ask him if he’s having a good day?

I can’t help but wonder if he ever gets annoyed. “There are people suffering, but sure–I’ll arrange it so your team goes to the Super Bowl.” *facepalm* Or is his compassion, love, and empathy so vast that there is no priority list?

Either way, I’m grateful that I can bend his ear now and then. Hopefully he doesn’t feel the need to turn some water into wine and have a tot or two afterward.